Did your newly purchased car fail inspection in the first 7 days? Will it cost more than 10% of what you paid to fix it? You could be entitled to a refund under the Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law. The Lemon Aid Law applies regardless of the age for mileage of the vehicle.
To get a refund under the Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law you must:
Within 7 days of purchase of the vehicle, have it inspected by any licensed Massachusetts motor vehicle inspector (even if the dealer put on own inspection sticker).
If the vehicle fails inspection, get a written estimate of the cost of the repairs needed before it may pass inspection.
If the estimated cost of repairs is more than 10% of what you paid for the car, you have a Lemon Aid Law violation.
Return the car to the dealer with a written notice asking for a refund under the Lemon Aid Law along with a copy of the failed inspection report and the repair estimate, within 14 days of purchase.
If you have followed the above steps and are not given a refund, or would like a legal professional to do these steps for you, contact Korth Law Office.